Standing still is boring. Get outside!

On ya bike in Berlin

End of our first day in Copenhagen we had dinner with our airbnb hosts family and stayed up late watching a movie with Emil and Nynne. It was awesome to hang out with lovely people on the other side of the world.

photo-54

Weather was heaps warmer (maybe 1’C) the next day so we rode around for hours. We paid a visit to Europes’ longest shopping street and Jono got impatient with me when I wanted to go into shops (not sure what he thought we would be doing there…). We explored Christiania Island and rode through the Norrebro Cemetry. This is where Hans Christian Anderson is buried and people don’t seem to find it weird or creepy to walk their dog and hang out in here. It was pretty beautiful.

photo-52

We like Norrebro, it’s a pretty hipster area full of quirky cafes and cool wine bars. We found a fun place on an awesome street called Blagardsgade and had a drink.

photo-48 Emil and I googled apartments for sale in the area (which is only 2.5kms from the centre of the city) and found out you can buy a renovated 2 bedroom apartment for $175000!!! What the?? Makes you realise how expensive it is to live in Australia.

Everyone, seriously everyone, rides a bike here. It feels pretty cool to ride around town like you’re in the peloton or a ‘bike possie’ as Jono calls it. They even have special bike traffic lights.

photo-49

We left Copenhagen and travelled by train to Berlin, Germany. Its pretty cool, to cross the Baltic Sea the train drives onto a ferry!

photo-55

We’ve got our own apartment here in Berlin for 5 days. Feels pretty good to just stop moving around for a little while. We arrived in the evening so I ducked out to grab some essentials like milk etc. Turns out the local supermarket doesn’t take credit card. This I found out after I’d bundled up all my purchases (here the checkout people sit down and you pack your own bags). The dude didn’t really speak English and there were like 20 people in the line behind me. He definitely knew the English word ‘No’ and phrase ‘No money, No’! I signed to him I was going to find an ATM (can you even imagine how you do that?) and ran off. Luckily I found one and he let me have my food.

First day in Berlin today and we decided to make it a museum day. We rode our bikes to Museum Island, which as the name suggests is an island in the middle of the Spree River with 5 museums on it. We bought a pass that lets you into all of them. Challenge accepted – how hard could it be to see them all in one day?

photo-46

We’ve seen lots of famous and impressive things now including: the Pergamon Alter, the Ishtar Gates of Babylon, the market gates of Miletus, the Aleppo Room, the Bust of Nefertiti, the Gold Hat, Tilman Riemenschneider’s Four Evangelists and the double statue of The Prussian Princesses. There was more to see, however, once we were 3 and ¾ museums or 6hrs in we felt like this…

photo-53

I paused to look closely at a bronze statue or something and next thing I know Jono is 10 rooms ahead. He practically ran through the last museum and I said to him ‘are you pretty over it?’ and he replied (with genuine surprise) ‘oh yes but how could you tell?’

photo-47 We rode a different route home and came across this wicked area with an awesome café that was a Japanese kitchen, teahouse and coffee shop. I had a miso soup and a latte to keep with the theme, both of which were delicious. Coffee seems to be better here, no more thinking you’re ordering a lovely coffee and getting a plunger of nasty coffee in return.

photo-50

Not as many people speak English here as we expected. In one museum I got told off for carrying my handbag over my shoulder and to the back. Apparently the man gesticulating wildly at me speaking in a fierce German whisper wanted me to have it round the front so I wouldn’t swing it round crazily and knock paintings off the wall. They definitely have some random ideas of how to run things which leaves Jono muttering like a crazy man ‘bloody Germans’ loud enough for every German within a 15m radius to hear while I slink away.

photo-51

5 responses

  1. Jared Wiltshire

    haha can totally hear jono telling you he’s over the museum. Maybe I’ll buy a house in Germany then…

    February 28, 2013 at 10:04 pm

  2. Jess

    The Bust of Nefertiti???? Is it what it sounds like……. Love reading about your adventures. God Bless.

    March 3, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    • Haha Jess i just found this comment! Its not her breasts haha its her head..as in a bust! 😛 xx

      March 24, 2013 at 1:43 pm

  3. Jennifer

    Hi, I found this site on another site that one of you had commented on. I will be going to Scandinavia in February and was looking for things to do.

    I was hoping you could tell me how long it took you to go from Copenhagen to Berlin on the train? I would like to see as much as I can on the weekends, as I will be working during the week.

    January 3, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

